Only 2 weeks after the fire that as destroyed part of Marlow Rowing Club crews were out and racing at Maidenhead Regatta on Saturday - winning 10 races and taking the prize for the most successful club. A big thank you must go to Maidenhead Rowing Club who lent a number of boats to Marlow to enable some of crews to race.  

 Going into the final race Marlow had clocked up 9 wins at the regatta:

  • Masters C/D Eights (Ben Kent, John Yeatman, Peter Stasiuk, Mike Parsons, Ed House, Mark Ruinet, Walimar Czakan, Rob Robertson coxed by Claire Vanner),
  • Mix IM2 Eights (Ben Kent, Jo Wright, Crispin Knill, Victoria Parsons, Anna Brazinova, Hannah Cumming, Mark Ruinet, Andy McCartney, coxed by Claire Vanner) ,
  • Masters B/C 4+ (Ben Kent, John Yeatman, Mark Ruinet, cox Claire Vanner),
  • Novice coxed 4’s (Josh Kent, Joe Rockell, Seb Devereux, Charlie Simon coxed by Ted Treasure),
  • Women’s Novice coxed 4’s (Tuba Islam, Amanda Rice, Claire Gray, Kerry Clarke coxed by Lisa Knill),
  • J16 quad sculls (Joe Rockell, Dan Hughes, Josh Kent, Seb Devereux),
  • J14 coxed quad sculls, (Piers Hinton, Keegan Curlewis, Will Sones, Ted Treasure, coxed by Alex Haynes),
  • J14 double sculls (Alex Haynes, Fraser Russell), 
  • Mix IM2 double sculls (Jo Wright, Alex Gasper),
  • Masters D/E single sculls (Rob Robertson).

These 9 wins meant that going into that last race of the day Marlow were level on points (26:26) with Maidenhead - meaning that Marlow had secured the Victor Ludorum (awarded for the visiting club with the most wins). That last race was Marlow v Maidenhead in J14 doubles which Marlow (Alex Haynes, Fraser Russell) won, meaning that Marlow was the most successful crew overall with 28 points and also took the Sword prize.